2019 Canada election results: Madawaska—Restigouche

Voters in Madawaska—Restigouche reelected René Arseneault of the Liberal party as their MP in the 2019 election.


Liberal: René Arseneault (Incumbent)

Conservative: Nelson Fox

NDP: Chad Betteridge

Green: Louis Bérubé

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada.


This rural riding in northwestern New Brunswick includes Edmundston, Kedgwick and Campbellton.

More geographical information on the electoral district can be found at Elections Canada. 

Story continues below advertisement


Former Minister of Aboriginal Affairs Bernard Valcourt was unseated in 2015. Valcourt had narrowest win for the Conservatives in New Brunswick in 2011, ending a four-election Liberal streak. French is the mother tongue of 80.2 per cent of people in this riding, the second highest number in Canada outside Quebec.

Sponsored content