2019 Canada election results: Incumbent Liberal Geoff Regan won the Halifax West riding

Voters in the Halifax West riding has elected Geoff Regan as their MP for the 2019 election.

As the current Speaker of the House of Commons, Regan should be considered one of the Liberal’s star candidates.

The longtime MP has won this seat in the past six elections.

Shuman enlisted in the US Army at 19 and served as a paratrooper and helicopter pilot, for which he was decorated for valor. He will represent the Tories and sitting Halifax Regional Municipality councillor Richard Zurawski who will carry the Green banner.


Liberal: Geoff Regan (Incumbent)

Conservative: Fred Shuman

NDP: Jacob Wilson

Green: Richard Zurawski

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada. 

Story continues below advertisement


Halifax West consists of the community of Bedford, the west end of Halifax, and the communities of Upper Hammonds Plains to the north, Tantallon in the west and Terence Bay to the south.

More geographical information on the electoral district can be found at Elections Canada. 


Halifax West was a solid conservative riding from 1979 to 1993.

Since then it has been represented by Liberal MP Geoff Regan except for a the year stint where the NDP’s Gordon Earle represented the riding from 1997 to 2000.

Sponsored content