2019 Canada election results: St. John’s South-Mount Pearl

Global News has declared Liberal incumbent Seamus O’Regan as the winner in the riding of St. John’s South-Mount Pearl.

O’Regan is the current minister of Indigenous services and is the former minister of veterans affairs and associate minister of national defence. He’s a health and addictions advocate and is a former journalist who spent almost decade as a host of Canada AM.


Liberal: Seamus O’Regan (incumbent)

Conservative: Terry Martin

NDP: Anne Marie Anonsen

Green: Alexandra Hayward

PPC: Ben Ruckpaul

CHP: David Jones

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada.

Story continues below advertisement


This riding consists of the south-eastern parts of the City of St John’s and the City of Mount Pearl.


St. John’s South-Mount Pearl was formerly known as St. John’s South before a redistribution order of 2013.

This riding has flipped parties since 2004. The Tories won the seat in 2004 and 2006 before Liberal Siobhan Coady won in 2008 with the help of an “Anything But Conservative” campaign pushed by then-Premier Danny Williams.

The seat would flip to the NDP when Ryan Cleary defeated Coady by just 949 votes in 2011.

Sponsored content