B.C. municipal election 2018: Sicamous results

Terry Rysz is the mayor of Sicamous by acclamation. Rysz ran unopposed. Sicamous was one of three communities in the Okanagan area with an acclaimed mayor, with the other two being Armstrong and Lumby.

Council seats went to Gord Bushell, Malcolm Makayev, Bob Evans, Ryan Airey, Colleen Anderson and Jeff Mallmes.

Below is the full list of mayoral and councillor candidates.



Terry Rysz (incumbent)


Ryan Airey

Colleen Anderson (incumbent)

Gord Bushell (incumbent)

Tammy Chopick-Chouinard

Story continues below advertisement

Bob Evans (incumbent)

Leanne Komaryk

Todd Kyllo (incumbent)

Malcolm Makayev (incumbent)

Jeff Mallmes (incumbent)

Judy Moore


Sicamous is located where Shuswap and Mara Lake meet in B.C.’s Shuswap region. It’s about 30 kilometres from Salmon Arm.

Population (2016)



The Sicamous region once served as a place where hunters gathered as they prepared to search for prairie buffalo in the Rocky Mountains.

Its location on Shuswap and Mara Lakes would help it serve as a transport centre, with paddlewheelers using the Seymour Arm amid the Gold Rush of the 1860s, and continuing there into the 1920s.

The Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) was finished in 1885, ending paddlewheelers as a dominant form of transport and hailing a new era for Sicamous, as it helped to establish amenities such as a school, stores, and hotels.

Today, primary industries include forestry and agriculture.

Story continues below advertisement

But tourism is a major driver, too: the place is known as the “Houseboat Capital of Canada.”

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Mel Arnold (Conservative)


Greg Kyllo (BC Liberal)