B.C. municipal election 2018: Barriere results

Ward Stamer is the new mayor of Barriere after capturing 71.5 per cent of the vote.

Stamer won with 461 votes, according to CivicInfo BC, defeating Mike Fennell who had 184.

Incumbent councillors Donna Kibble, Al Fortin and Amanda Sabyan were re-elected. Newcomers Scott Kershaw, Rob Kerslake, and Judy Armstrong also won Saturday night.

Below is the full list of mayoral and councillor candidates.



Mike Fennell

Ward Stamer


Linda Altenhofen

Judy Armstrong

Story continues below advertisement

Al Fortin (incumbent)

Scott Kershaw

Rob Kerslake

Donna Kibble (incumbent)

Pat Paula (incumbent)

Shane Quiding

Amanda Sabyan (incumbent)


Located in the Lower North Thompson Valley, Barriere is a district municipality where the North Thompson and Barriere Rivers converge. It’s located about 60 kilometres north of Kamloops.

Population (2016)



Barriere’s history is the history of the Lower North Thompson Valley, a region described in two words on its website: rustic and wild.

It’s an area characterized by mountains, forests, ranches and lakes with fishing where you’re “bound to get a nibble no matter what the time of year.”

Barriere itself became a town in 1914 — it was a hub for the region with a post office and railway station.

The railway proper started operating two years later, bringing more activity to the region.

Story continues below advertisement

The Barriere River Dam produced electricity for Kamloops from 1914 to 1950. But Barriere itself didn’t even have power until 1948.

The municipality of Barriere was evacuated amid the McClure fire in 2003, which burned for 75 days and covered over 26,000 hectares.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Cathy McLeod (Conservative)


Peter Milobar (BC Liberal)