No outdoor fires for residents in southeastern Alberta municipality

Viewer photo of the wildfire in Wheatland County, looking north toward Gleichen Tuesday, Oct. 17, 2017. Susan Durtnall

A fire ban was issued Thursday morning for a municipality in southeastern Alberta.

The Special Areas Board imposed the ban throughout the municipality of Special Areas.

READ MORE: Current status of wildfires around the province

About 5,000 people live in the rural municipality, which includes the communities of Hanna, Oyen and Consort.

The ban is imposed on all outdoor fires, excluding gas or propane barbeques.

The communities impacted by the ban are expected to handle the restriction on their own.

READ MORE: Crowsnest Pass cancels evacuation order; wildfire being held

Evacuation orders in the Municipality of Crowsnest Pass put in place following a wildfire that started on Tuesday afternoon were dropped on Thursday morning amid news the wildfire was being held.


Sponsored content