Calgary election 2017: candidates file nomination papers

Click to play video: 'Calgary election 2017: Nenshi and other mayoral candidates speak to arena controversy'
Calgary election 2017: Nenshi and other mayoral candidates speak to arena controversy
WATCH ABOVE: It’s nomination day for candidates in the 2017 Calgary municipal election. Global’s Doug Vaessen has the latest surprises from city hall – Sep 18, 2017

Editor’s note: In a previous broadcast version of this story, mayoral candidate Bill Smith was incorrectly referred to as “Jim Smith.” Video in this story has since been replaced with a corrected version. We apologize for the error.

Mayoral and city council candidates officially threw their hats in the electoral ring on Monday.

READ MORE: Nenshi cites ‘taxes and transit’ as top 2017 election issues as challengers point to arena controversy

Those who wished to run in Calgary’s 2017 municipal election had between 9 a.m. and noon and pay a deposit and file their nomination papers.

Candidates then have 24 hours to withdraw before an official list of candidates is released on Tuesday afternoon.

Story continues below advertisement

There are seven people running for mayor against Naheed Nenshi, who is hoping to win his third term. Shawn Baldwin left the mayoral race and threw his support behind candidate Bill Smith Monday morning.

Four city councillors will not be running for re-election, including Ward 6 Councillor Richard Pootmans, Ward 3 Councillor Jim Stevenson, Ward 11 Councillor Brian Pincott and Ward 10 Councillor Andre Chabot, who is running for mayor.

Calgary’s municipal election will be held on Oct. 16.

Which election issues matter to you? Let us know your top concerns and burning questions.

Sponsored content