B.C. election 2020: Vancouver-Point Grey results

Global News projects incumbent BC NDP candidate David Eby will win the riding of Vancouver-Point Grey.

Eby has quickly become one of B.C.’s fastest-rising politicians, jumping from the BC Civil Liberties Association to knocking off former BC Liberal leader Christy Clark in the 2013 election.

That win marked the end of a longstanding trend of the riding being served by B.C.’s premier, first by BC Liberal Gordon Campbell and then by Clark.

Since then, six-foot-seven yoga practitioner Eby has helped put corruption in Vancouver’s housing market on the map, and was appointed attorney general in 2017.

Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

Many inside the party believe he’s the frontrunner to be the next leader, whenever that may be.

Story continues below advertisement

Eby has turned the former Liberal seat into a relatively comfortable place to be an NDP politician. It’s unclear what sort of impact a virtual-learning policy at the University of British Columbia, which is in his riding, may have on his re-election bid.

Nominated Candidates

  • BC Liberals: Mark Bowen
  • BC NDP: David Eby
  • BC Greens: Devyani Singh

Swing Riding Meter

Campbell held the seat for the BC Liberals from 1996 to 2011. Clark held it from 2011 to 2013. Eby beat Clark in 2013 election and has held the seat for the BC NDP since then.

Vancouver-Point Grey was the 52nd closest race based on winning percentage in the province in 2017. Eby won by 22.78 per cent.

Elections Results 2017

  • BC NDP: David Eby, 14,195 votes (55.94%)
  • BC Liberal: James Lombardi, 8,414 votes (33.16%)
  • BC Green: Amanda Konkin, 2,604 votes (10.26%)
  • Independent: Brian Taylor, 85 votes (0.34%)
  • Your Political Party: David Stall, 77 votes (0.30%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.
Story continues below advertisement
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.