B.C. election 2020: Surrey-Newton results

Harry Bains has been reelected in Surrey-Newton, Global News projects.

The riding is a BC NDP-friendly constituency, but has voted BC Liberal and Social Credit once each in the past as well.

Bains has held the seat since 2005. He won easily in 2017, defeating the Liberal hopeful by more than 4,200 ballots.

The BC Liberals have nominated financial planner and community sports advocate Paul Boparai.

The riding was created in 1986, and is the smallest of the Surrey districts.

Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020


  • BC NDP: Harry Bains
  • BC Liberal: Paul Boparai
  • BC Green Party:  Asad Syed

Swing riding meter

The New Democrats have won this seat in six of eight elections since it was created. The BC Liberals last captured it during their 2001 sweep of the province.

Story continues below advertisement

In 2017, Bains won by a margin of 27.32 per cent. Just 18 of B.C.’s 87 seats were won by a larger margin. HIs party won by a larger edge in just eight of its 41 seats.

2017 election results

  • BC NDP: Harry Bains — 9,744 votes (57.31%)
  • BC Liberal: Gurminder Singh Parihar — 5,099 votes (29.99 per cent)
  • BC Greens: Richard Krieger — 1,175 votes (6.89%)

​This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.