B.C. election 2020: Chilliwack-Kent results

It was a decision that sent shock waves through the election campaign.

B.C. Liberal candidate Laurie Throness forced to resign as a candidate Chilliwack-Kent after controversial comments about free contraception. In an all candidates meeting broadcast online Throness stated the NDP’s plan was trying to prevent poor people from getting pregnant.

Throness will still appear on the ballot as the Liberal candidate for Chilliwack-Kent.

The riding has long been a strong hold for the BC Liberals. Chilliwack city councillor Jason Lum is running as an independent and could become just the second person in BC’s history to win a seat as an independent.

Located in the Fraser Valley, with agriculture as the region’s key industry, versions of this district have reliably elected right wing MLAs for decades.

The NDP made a brief breakthrough in a 2012 byelection — when riding included Hope — and Gwen O’Mahoney took advantage of a vote split between the BC Liberals and BC Conservatives to claim the seat.

Story continues below advertisement
Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?

In 2015, Hope was removed from the riding.

Before resigning, Throness faced criticism after he continued to advertise in a Christian magazine that also carried anti-LGBTQ2 content, despite Liberal Leader Andrew Wilkinson’s pledge to stop spending money with the publication.


  • BC Liberals (resigned from the BC Liberal Party): Laurie Throness
  • BC Greens: Jeff Hammersmark
  • BC NDP: Kelli Paddon
  • Libertarian: Eli Gagne
  • Independent: Jason Lum

Swing riding meter

Throness won this riding by a comfortable 20.71 per cent in 2017.

It was the 47th closest of 87 races in that election, and the 24th closest of the 43 seats the BC Liberals won.

Story continues below advertisement

2017 election results

  • BC Liberals: Laurie Throness — 11,841 votes (52.75%)
  • BC NDP: Patti MacAhonic — 7,273 votes (32.40%)
  • BC Greens: Josie Bleuer — 3,335 votes (14.85%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.