B.C. election 2020: Nechako Lakes results

Global News projects incumbent BC Liberal candidate John Rustad will win another term in the riding of Nechako Lakes.

Rustad has held the seat and its predecessor Prince George-Omineca since 2005.

In the last two elections, Rustad came close to defeating his NDP opponent by a two-to-one margin.

A sprawling, rural riding that spans the centre of British Columbia, Nechako Lakes has traditionally voted for the BC Liberals and the Social Credit party before them.

Highway 16 between Vanderhoof and Houston forms the backbone of the riding, which stretches as far north as Bulkley House and as far south as Eutsuk Lake.

Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020


  • BC Liberals: John Rustad
  • BC NDP: Anne Marie Sam
  • Libertarian: Jon Rempel
  • Christian Heritage Party of B.C.: Dan Stuart
  • Independent: Margo Maley

Swing riding meter

Nechako Lakes is a safe BC Liberal seat.

Story continues below advertisement

In 2017 Rustad won by a margin of 24.58 per cent. Only 27 of B.C.’s 87 ridings had larger margins of victory for their winners. Twenty-nine of the 43 seats the BC Liberals won in 2017 were closer races than this one.

2017 election results

  • BC Liberals: John Rustad — 5,307 votes (54.39%)
  • BC NDP: Anne Marie Sam — 2,909 votes (29.81%)
  • BC Greens: Douglas Gook — 878 votes (9%)
  • Libertarian: John Rempel — 438 votes (4.49%)
  • Independent: Al Trapuh — 226 votes (2.31%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.