New Brunswick election: Quispamsis

Progressive Conservative leader Blaine Higgs retains Quispamsis seat in the 2020 election.

Riding background

Until 2014, Quispamsis was considered a bellwether riding, having elected an MLA from the governing party every year since 1974.

Read more: All our New Brunswick election 2020 coverage


Liberal: Robert Hunt

  • A veteran of the US Air Force
  • Lived in Quispamsis, N.B,. since he moved to Canada in 2007

Progressive Conservative: Blaine Higgs (incumbent)

  • Leader of the New Brunswick Progressive Conservative Party

NDP: Caitlin Grogan

Story continues below advertisement
  • Online activist who has been vocal on policing in Saint John

Green: Addison Fach

People’s Alliance: Sara Nicole Hall



Progressive Conservative Incumbent Blaine Higgs retained his seat in 2018, earning 56.9 per cent of the vote.

He defeated Liberal candidate Aaron Kennedy, who earned his 25.2 per cent, and Keith Porter of the People’s Alliance, who garnered 9.6 per cent.


Quispamsis was relatively unchanged during the 2013 redistricting process.

Blaine Higgs held onto his seat in the 2014 election.

Higgs defeated Liberal candidate Mary Schryer with 51.4 per cent of the vote. Schryer earned 31.6 per cent


Liberal incumbent Mary Schryer was defeated by PC candidate Blaine Higgs in the 2010 general election.

Higgs won with 50.7 per cent of the vote while Schryer earned 34.2 per cent of the vote.