New Brunswick election: Shediac Bay-Dieppe

Liberal Robert Gauvin fills Shediac Bay-Dieppe seat in the 2020 election.

Riding background

Shediac Bay-Dieppe was one of the new ridings created in the 2013 redistricting. It drew from former districts Kent South, Dieppe-Centre-Lewisville, Memramcook-Lakeville-Dieppe and Shediac-Cape-Pelé.

The district runs from the coastal communities of Cocagne and Grande-Digue inland to include parts of the city of Dieppe.

There is no incumbent in this riding after Brian Gallant, the former Premier and Liberal Party Leader resigned the seat in October 2019. He made the decision after the Liberals could not form the government in the wake of the razor-close 2018 election.


Liberal: Robert Gauvin

Story continues below advertisement
  • Gauvin, who won the Shippagan-Lamèque-Miscou seat in 2018, resigned from his role as minister of Tourism, Heritage, and Culture and from the Tory caucus in February citing Blaine Higgs’ decisions on health reforms.
  • On Aug. 18, Gauvin was announced as the Liberal candidate for Shediac Bay-Dieppe

Progressive Conservative:  Mathieu Gérald Caissie

NDP:  Delphine Daigle

People’s Alliance: Phillip Coombes



Then-premier and Liberal leader Brian Gallant retained his seat in the 2018 election with 67.1 per cent of the vote.

He defeated PC candidate Paulin Blaise Ngweth, who earned 14.7 per cent of the vote, Green Party candidate Michel Albert, who took home 9.9 per cent of the vote, and the NDP’s Michel Boudreau who earned 8.3 per cent.


Brian Gallant, who was first elected as Liberal Party leader in 2012, re-offered in the 2014 election and chose to run in the newly created riding of Shediac Bay-Dieppe.

Gallant easily won the seat, earning 64.6 per cent of the vote, and defeated PC candidate Dolorès Poirier.

Story continues below advertisement

Poirier earned 19.2 per cent of the vote.


Liberal incumbent Victor Boudreau retained his seat in Shediac-Cap-Pelé during the 2010 election.

Liberal incumbent Bernard LeBlanc retained his seat in the 2010 election in the riding of Memramcook-Lakeville-Dieppe.

PC incumbent Claude Williams retained his seat in Kent South during the 2010 election.

Liberal incumbent Roger Melanson retained his seat in the 2010 election in the riding of Dieppe-Centre-Lewisville.