2019 Canada election results: Central Okanagan-Similkameen-Nicola

Dan Albas has been re-elected in Central Okanagan-Similkameen-Nicola.

With all 227 polls reporting, Albas captured 47.9 per cent of the vote, with 30,364 people voting for him.

Liberal Mary Ann Murphy finished second with 25 per cent of the vote (15,843 votes) while Joan Phillip of the NDP came in third with 17 per cent (10,772).

After getting elected as the MP for the old riding of Okanagan-Coquihalla in 2011 with more than 53.5 per cent of the vote (28,525 votes), Albas earned 24,517 votes (39.56 per cent) in the 2015 election — just 1,458 more votes than Liberal challenger Karley Scott, who earned 23,059 votes (37.21 per cent).

Albas is carrying on a long conservative history for the area. Longtime MP Stockwell Day represented the area for 10 years. Before Day, the Reform Party staked its claim in the area all the way back in 1993.

Story continues below advertisement


Conservative: Dan Albas
Mary Ann Murphy
NDP: Joan Phillip
Green: Robert Mellalieu
People’s Party of Canada: Allan G. Duncan


The riding covers West Kelowna, Peachland, Summerland, Keremeos, Princeton, Merritt and a small part of Kelowna.


European: 88,055, 82.5 per cent
Aboriginal: 10,840, 10.2 per cent
South Asian: 1,665, 1.6 per cent
Chinese: 930, 0.9 per cent

Sponsored content