2019 Canada election results: Langley-Aldergrove

Tako van Popta has won his first term in Langley-Aldergrove, Global News projects, keeping the riding in Conservative hands.

It’s been an emotional year in Langley-Aldergrove. In April, Conservative MP Mark Warawa announced he had cancer and asked the communities “for a miracle.” Two months later he passed away after the cancer spread to his lungs, colon and lymph nodes, according to a post on his official Facebook page.

Warawa served the community as an MP from 2004 to his death, winning five straight elections. In 2015, Warawa received 27,333 votes (45.6 per cent) defeating Liberal Leon Jensen, his closest competitor, by around 5,500 votes.

Jensen ran again for the Liberals, but finished a distant second. The NDP’s Stacey Wakelin finished third, while Green candidate Kaija Farstad came in fourth place.


Liberal: Leon Jensen
Conservative: Tako van Popta
NDP: Stacey Wakelin
Green: Kaija Farstad
People’s Party of Canada: Natalie DiPietra-Cudmore
Libertarian: Alex Joehl


The riding, which covers parts of Langley and Abbotsford, is defined on the north by the Fraser River and the south by the U.S. border. The eastern and western borders are inconsistent. On the east the riding is bordered at times by Mount Lehman and Bradner Roads. On the east the riding is mostly bordered by 200 Street.

Story continues below advertisement


European: 84,955, 73.7 per cent
South Asian: 6,630, 5.8 per cent
Aboriginal: 5,660, 4.9 per cent
Chinese: 4,430, 3.8 per cent

Sponsored content