2019 Canada election results: Portage-Lisgar

Voters in the riding of Portage-Lisgar have re-elected Conservative incumbent Candice Bergen.

The Portage-Lisgar riding has never elected a member of Parliament that isn’t right of centre. It was previously represented by members from the now-defunct Reform and Canadian Alliance parties before former Conservative MP and current Manitoba Premier Brian Pallister was elected to Parliament in 2003. Bergen has represented the riding since 2008.


Liberals: Ken Werbiski

Conservatives: Candice Bergen (incumbent)

NDP: Cindy Friesen

Green Party: Beverley Eert

People’s Party of Canada: Aaron Archer

Christian Heritage Party: Jerome Dondo


Portage-Lisgar is a south-central riding in Manitoba and includes the rural municipalities of Portage la Prairie, Cartier, St. Francois Xavier, MacDonald, Morris, Rhineland, Pembina, Manitou and South Norfolk, along with the cities and towns of Portage la Prairie, Treherne, St. Claude, Morris, Plum Coulee, Winkler, Morden, Manitou, Somerset, Swan Lake, Carman and Notre Dame de Lourdes.

Story continues below advertisement


The district was created in 1996 from parts of the former districts of Lisgar-Marquette, Portage-Interlake and Provencher. The riding lost ground to the Dauphin-Swan River-Neepawa and Brandon-Souris ridings but gained territory from Provencher and Selkirk-Interlake during the 2012 electoral redistribution.

Sponsored content