2019 Canada election results: Sydney-Victoria

Voters in Sydney — Victoria elected Jaime Battiste of the Liberal part as their MP in the 2019 election.

For six times straight, Liberal Mark Eyking was elected as MP in 2015.

However, the longtime MP has bowed out for the 2019 election.

With a history of electing Liberals Jaime Battiste was able to win a seat and becoming the first Mi’kmaw MP.


Liberal: Jaime Battiste

Conservative: Eddie Orrell

NDP: Jodi McDavid

Green: Lois Foster

Veterans Coalition Party of Canada: Randy Joy

Independent: Kenzie MacNeil

Independent: Archie MacKinnon

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada. 

Story continues below advertisement


This riding covers central Cape Breton with the Cape Breton Regional Municipality is split between this riding and Cape Breton-Canso.

More geographical information on the electoral district can be found at Elections Canada. 


This riding was represented by the NDP’s Peter Mancini in 1997 before he was defeated by Liberal Mark Eyking in 2000.

Sponsored content