2019 Canada election results: Halifax

Voters in Halifax reelected Liberal incumbent Andy Fillmore in the 2019 election.

Fillmore serves as the current parliamentary secretary to the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism and is a graduate of Dalhousie and Harvard.

Jo-Ann Roberts, the deputy-leader of the Greens, attempted to challenge Fillmore while the NDP sought to recapture a seat they held from 1997 to 2015.


Liberal: Andy Fillmore (Incumbent)

Conservative: Bruce Holland

NDP: Christine Saulnier

Green: Jo-Ann Roberts

PPC: Duncan McGenn

Animal Protection Party of Canada: Bill Wilson

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada. 

Story continues below advertisement


The riding of Halifax consists of the Halifax peninsula and all areas south to the Atlantic Ocean.

More geographical information on the electoral district can be found at Elections Canada. 


This riding was first created in 1867 at Confederation and was represented by 2 MP’s until 1968. Since then it’s played host a series of political heavyweights.

Former deputy leader of the NDP Megan Leslie held the riding from 2008 to 2015 while former NDP leader Alexa McDonough held this riding for the NDP from 1997 to 2008.

Prior to that, the riding had alternated between the Liberals and Progressive Conservatives.

It was the riding of former PC leader Robert Stanfield from 1968 to 1979.

Sponsored content