2019 Canada election results: Cumberland–Colchester

Voters in Cumberland–Colchester elected Lenore Zann as their MP in the 2019 election.

Bill Casey of the Liberal party was the riding’s MP in the 2015 election but he did not seekin re-election.

That left voters with a choice. Elect the man that Casey defeated in 2015, former Conservative MP Scott Armstrong, or choose someone new.

Zann was considered the star candidate for the Liberal party.

Zann has served as the provincial representative for the area of Truro-Bible Hill as a member of the Nova Scotia NDP since 2009, but chose to sit as an independent when she announced her decision to run for the Liberals federally.

Liberals were able to hold on to this normally Conservative riding.  


Liberal: Lenore Zann

Conservative: Scott Armstrong

NDP: Larry Duchesne

Green: Jason Blanch

PPC: William Archer

National Citizen’s Alliance (NCA): Stephen J Garvey

Veterans Coalition Party of Canada: Jody O’Blenis

Independent: Matthew V. Rushton

Global News is featuring the candidates for all parties running candidates in the upcoming 2019 general election. For a complete list of candidates, visit Elections Canada. 

Story continues below advertisement


This riding encompasses the north-central Nova Scotia, including Amherst and Truro.

More geographical information on the electoral district can be found at Elections Canada. 


This area has been strongly PC and Conservative since the late 1960s, with only two exceptions.

Liberal Dianne Brushett won the seat for a single term in 1993 and former Independent MP turned Liberal candidate Bill Casey took the seat in 2015.

Casey chose to not reoffer in this election and its up to Lenorre Zann to see if she can be the next to break the region’s blue streak.

Sponsored content