Madonna drops new single ‘Medellin,’ first song in 4 years

Madonna teams up with Maluma in her first song in nearly 4 years, 'Medellin'

Madonna is back, after nearly four years, with brand new music — her first since 2015’s Rebel Heart.

The Like a Virgin singer dropped the lead single, Medellin, from her upcoming 14th studio album on Wednesday.

Medellin was co-produced by the 60-year-old star and her longtime collaborator Mirwais. The song features Colombian singer/songwriter Maluma.

Story continues below advertisement

Madonna also revealed the release date and tracklist for the highly anticipated album — which is entitled Madame X — it features 13 tracks and will be released in late spring, according to the singer.

Madame X will also feature MigosQuavo and Swae Lee among others.

Singer Madonna on June 24, 1990 walking on Central Park South to meet up with Warren Beatty at his suite at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. Ron Galella, Ltd./WireImage

READ MORE: Madonna teases new album ‘Madame X,’ releases song snippet

Breaking news from Canada and around the world sent to your email, as it happens.

Medellin is the capital of the Antioquia province in Colombia. It is often referred to as the “City of Eternal Spring” and is the hometown of Maluma, 25, who sings in Spanish for most of the song.

“This seems incredible,” wrote Maluma on Twitter, “Madonna and Maluma. I still cannot believe it, but it is a reality!”

Story continues below advertisement

The up-and-comer continued to show his deepest gratitude to Madonna for the opportunity. The two had met previously at the 2018 MTV Music Awards after his performance and began working together after that.

“It’s impossible to contain the tears and emotions after hearing this,” he wrote following the release. “They don’t know my happiness or what this represents for my life!”

WATCH: Madonna teases new album, ‘Madame X,’ in mysterious teaser video

Click to play video: 'Madonna teases new album, ‘Madame X,’ in mysterious teaser video'
Madonna teases new album, ‘Madame X,’ in mysterious teaser video

READ MORE: The Cranberries members reflect on life, music without Dolores O’Riordan

Medellin is now available on all major streaming platforms.

Madame X will be released on June 14, it can now be pre-ordered and saved through the official Madonna website.

Story continues below advertisement

Madame X tracklist:

  1. Medellin [ft. Maluma]
  2. Dark Ballet
  3. God Control
  4. Future [ft. Quavo]
  5. Batuka
  6. Killers Who Are Partying
  7. Crave [ft. Swae Lee]
  8. Crazy
  9. Come Alive
  10. Faz Gostoso [ft. Anitta]
  11. Bitch I’m Loca [ft. Maluma]
  12. Don’t Search I Find
  13. I Rise

Sponsored content