March 6, 2019 9:45 am

Prince Albert Raiders win WHL regular season championship

The Prince Albert Raiders shut out the Swift Current Broncos 6-0 to win the Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy.

Lucas Chudleigh/Apollo Multimedia - Prince Albert Raiders / Supplied

The Prince Albert Raiders are the Western Hockey League’s (WHL) regular season champions.

The Raiders shut out the Swift Current Broncos 6-0 on Tuesday to win the Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy for the second time in team history.

Story continues below

READ MORE: Prince Albert Raiders fall to Moose Jaw Warriors 4-2 Saturday night

The only other time the Raiders won the regular season championship was in the 1984-85 season, when they also won the Memorial Cup.

Justin Nachbaur scored twice, while Dante Hannoun added a goal and two assists and Aliaksei Protas had a goal and an assist.

Sergei Sapego and Eric Pearce also scored for Prince Albert (51-9-2-2), the second-ranked team in the CHL.

Ian Scott made 24 saves for his sixth shutout of the season, placing him in a three-way tie with Luke Siemens and Rejean Beauchemin for the most in a single season in Raider history.

READ MORE: Saskatoon Blades win 5th-straight, clinch home-ice advantage

Riley Lamb had a busy night in net for Swift Current (10-46-4-2), stopping 33 of 39 shots he faced.

The two teams meet again on Friday in Prince Albert.

© 2019 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.