Alberta election: Highwood results

Global News projects UCP Richard Sigurdson win in Highwood.

Below is a full list of the candidates in the riding of Highwood, which is located in southern Alberta.

Quick take

There is no incumbent running to become the MLA for Highwood in 2019 as United Conservative Wayne Anderson is not running for re-election.


NDP: Erik Overland
United Conservative Party: Richard Sigurdson
Alberta Party: Ron Kerr
Alberta Independence Party: Dan Irving


In 2015, The Wildrose Party’s Wayne Anderson won the seat in Highwood. He later became a member of the United Conservative Party when the Wildrose Party merged with the Progressive Conservatives in 2017.

Story continues below advertisement

The riding had been PC since 1975. That changed in 2012 when former Wildrose leader Danielle Smith won the seat. In December 2014, Smith crossed the floor to the PC party. She failed to win the PC nomination in 2015, losing to Okotoks councillor Carrie Fischer.

Sponsored content