Voters keep Hamilton area predominantly NDP orange

Ontario Election: Andrea Horwath wins home riding of Hamilton Centre
Global News projects NDP Leader Andrea Horwath as the winner in her home riding of Hamilton Centre.

Ontario voters may have elected a Progressive Conservative majority government, but Hamilton remains primarily painted in NDP orange.

As expected, New Democrat leader Andrea Horwath handily won in her Hamilton-Centre riding, which she has held since 2004.

READ MORE: Ontario election results 2018: Poll-by-poll riding vote map

New Democrats Monique Taylor (Hamilton Mountain) and Paul Miller (Hamilton East-Stoney Creek) have been re-elected to Queen’s Park.

The NDP’s Sandy Shaw has been elected to the new riding of Hamilton West-Ancaster-Dundas, unseating the incumbent and longtime Liberal MPP Ted McMeekin.

Story continues below advertisement

Progressive Conservative Donna Skelly won the new riding of Flamborough-Glanbrook.

The victory will create a vacancy on Hamilton city council just over two years after Skelly won the Ward 7 byelection.

Burlington voters elected Tory Jane McKenna, who beat incumbent Eleanor McMahon of the Liberals.

Ontario Election: Doug Ford’s mother says she ‘knew he’d win’
Ontario Election: Doug Ford’s mother says she ‘knew he’d win’

Oakville North-Burlington elected the PC’s Effie Triantafilopoulos while Progressive Conservative Toby Barrett has been re-elected in Haldimand-Norfolk.

Story continues below advertisement

Tory Sam Oosterhoff was re-elected in Niagara-West.

Approximately 9.8 million people were registered to vote Thursday, and more than 768,000 voted in advance polls.