B.C. municipal election 2018: McBride results

The village of McBride has a new mayor, after Gene Runtz handily beat incumbent Loranne Martin. Runtz earned 127 ballots for 45 per cent of the vote compared to Martin’s 23.8 per cent, according to unofficial results posted by CivicInfo BC.

All four council candidates have been acclaimed after no other challengers came forward. Two of the councillors, Lucille Green and Rosemary Hruby, will serve their first full terms after being elected to council in a 2017 byelection. Allan M. Frederick and Diane R. Smith have been acclaimed to council for their first terms.

Below is the full list of the candidates for mayor and council.



Loranne Martin (incumbent)

Gene Runtz

Story continues below advertisement

Rick Thompson


Allan M. Frederick

Lucille Green (incumbent)

Rosemary Hruby (incumbent)

Diane R. Smith


McBride is located in central eastern B.C., along the Yellowhead Highway and the Fraser River. It’s just over 200 kilometres from Prince George.

Population (2016)



The McBride area was home to the Secwepemc and the Lheidli T’enneh before a railway was built through the Yellowhead Pass in 1872.

It would be the early 20th century before McBride started to grow, as the Grand Trunk Railway was built through the Robson Valley.

Rail and shipping would become early industries for McBride alongside agriculture and forestry.

McBride became a village in the 1930s, and the Yellowhead Highway would arrive in 1970.

McBride residents have included draft dodgers, forestry workers, Mennonites, farmers and artists.

Story continues below advertisement

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Bob Zimmer (Conservative)


Shirley Bond (BC Liberal)