Lethbridge election 2017: unofficial list of candidates revealed

Mon, Sep 18: Joe Scarpelli recaps the unofficial list of candidates to run in next month’s municipal election in Lethbridge.

Dozens lined up inside Lethbridge City Hall on Monday, filing paperwork to run in next month’s municipal election.

Three people have registered to run for mayor, while 29 filled out nomination forms to run for council.

Coverage of politics in Lethbridge on

Incumbent Mayor Chris Spearman put his name forward to run for a second term.

Robert Janzen, a retiree from Ukraine with a background in security, is also running for mayor.

“I lived in different countries… and in different governments… and different cities… I know what people want,” Janzen said.

“Everyone wants to pay less taxes, I know that.”

Tweet This
Story continues below advertisement

Martin Heavy Head, who ran for council four years ago, planned to do the same this year, but made a last-minute decision to go for the top job.

“I’m tired of there being street people who are addicted, I’m tired of there being no infrastructure to help these people, and I’m tired of the racism,” Heavy Head said.

“That’s pretty well my platform right there.”

READ MORE: Lethbridge election 2017: Tell us which issues matter to you

Mayor Spearman said he’s proud of what he and council have accomplished over the last four years and is hoping for another term.

“I think it’s important that the city continue to progress, I think we’ve done well in terms of economic development and job creation,” he said. “I think we made progress on social issues, decades-old social issues.”

As for council, 29 applications were filed for the eight spots, with seven of the current councilors putting their names forward.

Bridget Mearns announced last week that she will not seek another term.

The lists of nominees are unofficial because candidates have 24 hours to withdraw their names.

Unofficial nominees for mayor (one position)

Martin Heavy Head

Story continues below advertisement

Robert (Bob) Janzen

Chris Spearman

Unofficial nominees for councillor (eight positions)

Aileen Burke

Craig Burrows-Johnson

Mark Campbell

Jeff Carlson

Jeffrey Coffman

Belinda Crowson

Clint Germsheid

Zachary Gibb

Bill Ginther

Raymond Hoffarth

Blaine E. Hyggen

Liz Iwaskiw

Kevin Mark Layton

Shelby J. MacLeod

Joseph (Joe) Mauro

David Mikuliak

Rob Miyashiro

Ross Morrell

Nick Paladino

Ryan Parker

Story continues below advertisement

Harold Pereverseff

John Pogorzelski

Louise Marie Saloff

Joey Shackleford

Jennifer Takahashi

Bruce Thurber

Stephnie Watson

Davey Wiggers

Rena Woss

Unofficial nominees for public school trustee (seven positions)

Clark Bosch

Travis Burndred

Brooke Culley

Tyler Demers

Janice (Jan) Foster

Keith Fowler

D.J. Gellatly

Donna Hunt

Doug James

Don Lacey

Kristina Larkin

Christine Light

David Low

Story continues below advertisement

Lola Major

Locke Spencer

Hollie Tarasewich

Unofficial nominees for Holy Spirit Roman Catholic Separate Regional Division No. 4 
Ward 1, Ward 4 and Ward 5 are elected by acclamation. Ward 3 has no candidate, so the nomination period for this job will be open for another five business days.

Ward 1 (One Position)

Frances Cote

Ward 2 (Five Positions)

Joseph Petter Comeau

Erv Fehr

Bryan Kranzler

Keith McDonald

Danny Ponjavic

Bob Spitzig

Ken Tratch

Ward 3 (One Position)

No nominations

Ward 4 (One Position)

Judy Lane

Ward 5 (One Position)

Patricia J. Bremner

Story continues below advertisement
Global News Redesign Global News Redesign
A fresh new look for Global News is here, tell us what you think
Take a Survey

Sponsored Stories