June 17, 2017 5:00 pm
Updated: June 17, 2017 9:11 pm

Kenny Stafford among final cuts as Winnipeg Blue Bombers finalize roster

Global News / File

WINNIPEG – The Winnipeg Blue Bombers made their final cuts ahead of Saturday night’s roster cut down deadline.

The biggest surprise saw the departure of receiver Kenny Stafford. He was among a total of 12 players released while nine others were placed on the practice roster.

Stafford wasn’t out of work for very long as the Edmonton Eskimos immediately snapped him up, adding Stafford to their practice roster. Stafford played one season with the Eskies in 2015.

Story continues below

Also released were offensive lineman Zachary Intzandt, linebacker Kyrie Wilson, defensive back Sam Brown, receivers Daniel Williams, Gerrard Sheppard and Brendon Thera-Plamondon, as well as running back Kendall Roberson, defensive back Chris Greenwood and defensive linemen Rupert Butcher, Shayon Green and Ian Marouf.

Receivers Clarence Denmark, Ryan Lankford and L’Damian Washington were among those who survived the final cuts. The release of Roberson leaves Timothy Flanders as the back-up running back to Andrew Harris.

Defensive tackle Cory Johnson, defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat and defensive backs Brandon Alexander and Roc Carmichael are a few of the newcomers who made the cut. Barring injury first overall draft pick Faith Ekakitie will also start the season on the 46-man roster.

RELATED: Eskimos rally to tie Blue Bombers 38-38 in last game of pre-season

The club also filled nine of their 10 spots on the practice squad. Offensive lineman Qadr Spooner, receiver Derek Yachison, linebacker Frank Renaud, defensive lineman Padric Scott, linebacker Jovan Santos-Knox, kicker Felix Menard-Briere, defensive back Abu Conteh, receiver TJ Thorpe and defensive back Robert Porter will all stick around on the practice roster.

All CFL teams have to name their 46 man roster by Saturday at 9 pm central time.

Elsewhere the Eskimos released Manitoba Bisons linebacker DJ Lalama. The Saskatchewan Roughriders cut four former Bombers including Winnipeg’s Jordan Reaves. Quarterback Bryan Bennett, defensive lineman Ivan Brown and receiver Thomas Mayo were also let go.

The Bombers won’t announce their injured list until the day before their first regular season game. Winnipeg opens the season on the road against the Saskatchewan Roughriders on July 1.

RELATED: Winnipeg Blue Bombers cut 6 players

© 2017 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News