Canada imposes sanctions against Russia over Ukraine crisis: Harper

Prime Minister Stephen Harper shakes hands with Ukrainian Prime Minister Areseniy Yatsenyuk following a joint press conference at the Cabinet of Ministers in Kiev, Ukraine, on Saturday, March 22, 2014. Sean Kilpatrick/The Canadian Press

OTTAWA – Ottawa says it is imposing economic sanctions on 16 more Russian “entities” over that country’s actions in Ukraine.

Prime Minister Stephen Harper issued a statement Sunday saying Russia’s “illegal occupation of Ukraine and provocative military activity” remains a serious concern.

Harper says the latest measures should increase the economic pressure on Russia and “those responsible for the crisis in Ukraine.”

READ MORE: Ukraine government claims advances on rebel-held positions

In the last couple of months, the Harper government has imposed a number of political and economic sanctions against senior officials and some institutions in Russia and Ukraine.

Ottawa has expelled a Russian diplomat, co-sponsored a UN resolution on the crisis and earmarked $220 million to help stabilize the Ukrainian economy.

Story continues below advertisement

Canada has also said it will send six CF-18 fighter-bombers to join a NATO air police mission.

“We remain committed to working with our allies to preserve and promote a free, democratic and peaceful world, and will take further actions if Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity continues to be threatened,” Harper said.

Sponsored content