Hosts named for March 30 Juno Awards in Winnipeg

2013 Juno winner Serena Ryder will co-host the 2014 awards on March 30 in Winnipeg.
2013 Juno winner Serena Ryder will co-host the 2014 awards on March 30 in Winnipeg. Liam Richards / The Canadian Press

TORONTO – Classified, Johnny Reid and Serena Ryder were revealed early Tuesday as co-hosts of the Juno Awards, which will be held in Winnipeg on March 30.

Classified, a platinum-selling hip hop artist, was a 2013 Juno Award winner. Reid is a platinum-selling three-time Juno-winning artist and Ryder is a multi-platinum-selling four-time Juno Award winner.

It was also announced that Classified and Serena Ryder would perform together to open the two-hour award show at the MTS Centre.

The nominees for the annual music awards were announced in early February.

Montreal’s Arcade Fire, whose expansive fourth album Reflektor topped charts upon its October release, led the way with six nominations.

Michael Buble — an 11-time winner and last year’s host — earned five nominations including album, single and artist of the year. Five nods also went to Ryder, a four-time winner.

Story continues below advertisement

The Quin twins, of Calgary-reared outfit Tegan and Sara, scooped up four nominations for their slick clever pop reinvention Heartthrob.

Other four-time nominees include Celine Dion (a 20-time winner), Hedley (now 25-time nominees) and Drake, now a 20-time nominee.

Chantal Kreviazuk and Raine Maida will receive the Allan Waters Humanitarian Award, while classic rock outfit Bachman-Turner Overdrive will be ushered into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame.

RELATED: Manitoba Live app offers concert listings

Global News Redesign Global News Redesign
A fresh new look for Global News is here, tell us what you think
Take a Survey

Sponsored Stories