Canada election results: Nanaimo–Ladysmith

NDP candidate Lisa Marie Barron is projected to narrowly win the riding of Nanaimo–Ladysmith.

Barron was narrowly ahead in a tough three-way race with Conservative challenger Tamara Kronis and Green Party incumbent Paul Manly, which led to four extra days of ballot counting. Ultimately, mail-in ballots secured the riding for the NDP.

Manly finished in a disappointing third place with about 25 per cent of the vote, losing what had been a surprise pickup for the Greens in a 2019 byelection that was later solidified in that year’s federal election.

Barron, who finished just over 1,200 votes ahead of Kronis, brings the riding back to the NDP fold after former MP Sheila Malcolmson stepped down to successfully run for BC NDP in provincial politics — triggering the byelection that Manly won.

The riding of Nanaimo–Ladysmith is located on Vancouver Island, and includes Ladysmith, Nanaimo and Lantzville.

Story continues below advertisement


Liberal Party: Michelle Corfield

Conservative Party: Tamara Kronis

NDP: Lisa Marie Barron

Green Party: Paul Manly (incumbent)

People’s Party of Canada: Stephen Welton

Sponsored content