Canada election results: Eglinton—Lawrence

Global News is projecting Liberal MP Marco Mendicino has been re-elected for another term in the riding of Eglinton—Lawrence.

The Eglinton—Lawrence riding is located in central Toronto and its boundaries consist of the rail line where GO Transit Barrie line trains run on the west, Highway 401 on the north, Yonge Street on the east and Eglinton Avenue West on the south.

Immigrants make up almost 39 per cent of this riding’s population with large groups born in the Philippines, Italy and the United States, according to the 2016 census. The most common non-official mother tongues in the region consist of Tagalong, Italian and Spanish.

Close to 65 per cent of the population in this riding has some form of post-secondary education.

Liberal incumbent Marco Mendicino first won the seat in 2015 and was re-elected in 2019. He beat Conservative candidate Chani Aryeh-Bain by 11,301 votes, or 20.2 percentage points. The NDP and Green Party candidates came in third and fourth place.

Story continues below advertisement

The riding was held by Conservative MP Joe Oliver from 2011 to 2015, making him the only Conservative Party member to win the seat since the riding was first represented in 1979.


Liberal Party: Marco Mendicino (incumbent)

Conservative Party: Geoff Pollock

Green Party: Eric Frydman

NDP: Caleb Senneker

People’s Party of Canada: Timothy Gleeson


Sponsored content