Canada election results: South Shore–St. Margarets

Rick Perkins is projected to be elected in the riding of South Shore-St. Margarets.

South Shore–St. Margarets covers Shelburne, Queens and Luneburg counties. The riding is home to Nova Scotia’s famous Lighthouse Route, a roadway that contains some of the province’s most scenic and historic lighthouses.

Liberal incumbent Bernadette Jordan was able to reclaim her seat in the 2019 election, capturing 41.7 per cent of the vote.

Jordan caused a major upset in 2015 after claiming the riding — a long-time Tory stronghold.

The former Conservative MP for the riding, Gerald Keddy, represented the riding for nearly two decades but decided to not re-offer in 2015. Instead, the new Tory candidate was Richard Clark.

Infrastructure and lack of internet access were key issues in communities along the seaside following the upheaval caused by hurricane Dorian in 2019. The same year, Jordan was appointed the minister of fisheries, oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard.

Story continues below advertisement


Liberal: Bernadette Jordan (incumbent)

Conservative: Rick Perkins

NDP: Olivia Dorey

Green Party: Thomas Trappenberg

Editor’s Note: A previous version of this story incorrectly stated that a former MP for the riding, Gerald Keddy, was defeated after running in the 2015 election. This has since been changed to reflect Keddy deciding not to re-offer in 2015, and that another Conservative candidate was put in place.

Sponsored content