B.C. election 2020: Mid Island-Pacific Rim results

Tofino Mayor Josie Osborne has been elected in Mid Island-Pacific Rim, Global News projects.

The class of 2005 is something of NDP lore. The first time John Horgan was elected. The first time Carole James was elected. The first time Adrian Dix was elected. The first time Rob Fleming was elected.

This election also marks the end of the line for three members of the class of ’05.

Along with Shane Simpson and Claire Trevena, Scott Fraser is calling it a career.

The long time MLA for Mid Island-Pacific Rim has been in political life for a long time. The mayor of Tofino in the late 1990s turned MLA in the mid-2000s. He served as Horgan’s minister of Indigenous Relations and no matter who you asked it is hard for someone to say a bad thing about Fraser.

Story continues below advertisement
Click to play video 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

The woman hoping to replace him has similar credentials. Tofino mayor Josie Osborne is running for the NDP and like Fraser, she has many fans across Vancouver Island and the province.

The 48-year-old has been mayor since 2013.

The BC Liberals have nominated Port Alberni city councillor Helen Poon om the riding.

Nominated Candidates

  • BC NDP: Josie Osborne
  • BC Liberal: Helen Poon
  • BC Greens: Evan Jolicoeur
  • Libertarian: Robert Clarke
  • Independent: Graham Hughes

Swing riding meter

The BC NDP has won this seat every time since 1972 except in the 2001 election.

Mid Island-Pacific Rim was the 53rd closest riding out of 87 in the province in 2017 based on the winning percentage. Fraser won by 23.36 per cent. It was the 26th closest victory of the NDP’s 41 seats.

Story continues below advertisement

2017 election results

  • BC NDP: Scott Fraser, 12,556 votes (49.05%)
  • BC Liberals: Darren Frank DeLuca, 6,576 votes (25.69%)
  • BC Greens: Alicia La Rue, 5,208 votes (20.34%)
  • BC Conservatives: Julian Fell, 878 votes (3.43%)
  • Libertarian: Robert Alexander Clarke, 294 votes (1.15%)
  • Refederation: Dan Cebuliak, 86 votes (0.34%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest information, interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.