B.C. election 2020: North Vancouver-Lonsdale results

Global News is projecting BC NDP incumbent candidate Bowinn Ma will win the riding of North Vancouver-Lonsdale.

Ma’s first victory in 2017 broke a long streak for the BC Liberals. She became the first NDP candidate to win the seat since the 1991 provincial election.

The 35-year-old’s victory was also hugely symbolic for the NDP and reflective of the gains the party made around Metro Vancouver. Ma defeated Liberal cabinet minister Naomi Yamamoto by nearly 2,000 votes.

Since the election, Ma has gone to work solidifying the riding and posting her work on social media. She was the first MLA to attach a wagon to her bike and cruise through the riding for mobile coffee meetings and her use of social media has gained her a following beyond the boundaries of her riding.

Click to play video: 'How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?' How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election?
How do you vote in the upcoming B.C. provincial election? – Sep 28, 2020

One of the big issues in the riding is transportation and Ma has spearheaded the NDP’s bid for rapid transit across the Burrard Inlet.

Story continues below advertisement

Nominated Candidates

  • BC NDP: Bowinn Ma
  • BC Liberal: ‘Lyn Anglin
  • BC Greens: Christopher Hakes

Swing Riding Metre

North Vancouver-Lonsdale was the 10th closest riding in the province based on the winning percentage. Ma won by 7.4 per cent. Based on victory percentage, it was the fifth closest riding of all the 41 seats won by the NDP.

Since the 1991 election, the seat has been won twice by the  NDP and five times by the BC Liberals.

2017 Election Results

  • BC NDP: Bowinn Ma, 12,361 votes (45.5%)
  • BC Liberal: Naomi Yamamoto, 10,373 votes (38.1%)
  • BC Green: Richard Warrington, 4,148 votes (15.3%)
  • Libertarian: Donald N.S. Wilson, 316 votes (1.2%)

This profile will continually be updated to reflect latest candidate information, candidate interviews and events in the campaign.

Find full B.C. 2020 provincial election coverage here.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots were requested across B.C. this election. As mail-in ballots cannot be counted until after election night, these results are not final.

Sponsored content