New Brunswick election: Dieppe

Liberal Roger Melanson retains Dieppe seat in the 2020 election.

Riding background

The 2013 redistricting process left the riding of Dieppe Centre-Lewisville largely untouched, though it lost some parts of Moncton and gained parts of Dieppe. As a result of the changes, the district was renamed Dieppe.


Liberal: Roger Melanson (incumbent)

  • First elected in 2010

Progressive Conservative: Patricia Arsenault

  • Was elected as councillor-at-large for the City of Dieppe in 2016

Green: Mélyssa Boudreau

NDP: Pamela Boudreau

Story continues below advertisement



Liberal incumbent Roger Melanson once again easily retained his seat in 2018, winning 71.6 per cent of the vote.

He defeated Joyce Richardson of the NDP, who earned 14.6 per cent of the vote, and PC candidate Pierre Brine, who earned 13.8 per cent.


Melanson, the incumbent for Dieppe Centre-Lewisville, ran again in the newly renamed riding of Dieppe.

Melanson easily retained the seat, earning 66 per cent of the vote, and defeating PC candidate Norman Leger, who earned 18.4 per cent of the vote.


Liberal candidate Roger Melanson defeated PC candidate Dave Maltais and flipped the seat for the Liberals.

Melanson earned 46.3 per cent of the vote compared to Maltais, who earned 34.9 per cent.