Canada election results: Rivière-des-Mille-Îles

Global News has declared Bloc Quebecois candidate Luc Desilets as the winner in the riding of Rivière-des-Mille-Îles.

Desilets won with roughly 42 per cent of the vote defeating Liberal incumbent Linda Lapointe in a close race.

Rivière-des-Mille-Îles, (formerly known as Saint-Eustache—Sainte-Thérèse) is a federal electoral district in Quebec. It is located on the north bank of Rivière des Mille-Îles near the city of Laval. 

History: The district was created as”Saint-Eustache—Sainte-Thérèse” and the Bloc Québécois kept the seat since 1996, till 2011 when, 20 year old Laurin Liu of the NDP, won the election. The following election year, she lost the seat to the Liberals. 


Liberal: Linda Lapointe (Incumbent)

Conservative: Maikel Mikhael

Story continues below advertisement

NDP: Joseph Hakizimana

Bloc Québécois: Luc Desilets

Green: Ceylan Borgers

PPC: Hans Roker Jr.