2019 Canada election results: Portneuf–Jacques-Cartier

Global News has declared Conservative incumbent Joël Godin the winner of the Portneuf–Jacques-Cartier riding with 43.3 per cent of the vote.

Portneuf–Jacques-Cartier has been represented in the House of Commons since 1867. It was created in the British North America Act in 1867 as “Portneuf”.

Godin won in 2015 and ran again in 2019. Godin faced Liberal Annie Talbot. Talbot is former President and Chief Executive Officer of the Foundation of the National Museum of Fine Arts of Quebec and the Executive Director of La Presse Foundation.

Boundaries: This is a large riding northwest of Quebec City. It includes the city of Saint-Augustin-de-Demaures, as well as the county municipalities of Portneuf and La Jacques-Cartier.

Last Election: Godin won the 2015 federal election with 44.0 per cent of the vote.

History: Over the last 20 years the riding has bounced around from being represented by the Liberals, Bloc Quebecois, NDP and Conservative. From 2006 – 2011 the riding was held by independent MP André Arthur, a popular former radio host.


Conservative: Joël Godin (Incumbent)

Liberal: Annie Talbot

Bloc Québécois: Mathieu Bonsaint

Green: Marie-Claude Gaudet

NDP: David-Roger Gagnon

PPC: Ken Pereira


Sponsored content