2019 Canada election results: Papineau

Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau cruised to victory in his home riding of Papineau in Montreal.

Global News has declared Trudeau the winner in the riding.

Trudeau has held riding since 2008, when he took it from the Bloc Québécois, winning by just 1,200 votes. Trudeau won the 2015 federal election in a landslide with roughly 52 per cent of the vote.

Boundaries: This riding has seen only a small change in boundaries for 2015. It is in the centre of Montreal island.

Last Election: Papineau elected Liberal party leader Justin Trudeau in the 2015 federal election with a landslide 51.98 per cent of the vote.

History: This riding is a Liberal stronghold and was Liberal cabinet minister Pierre Pettigrew’s riding from 1997 until 2006, when he was defeated by Vivian Barbot for the Bloc Québécois. It was the BQ’s only victory here, and Barbot was defeated by Trudeau in the next election.


Liberal: Justin Trudeau (Incumbent)

Bloc Québécois: Christian Gagnon

Green: Juan Vázquez

NDP: Christine Paré

Conservative: Sophie Veilleux

PPC: Mark Sibthorpe

Rhinocéros Party: Jean-Patrick Cacereco Berthiaume

Christian Heritage: Susanne Lefebvre

No affiliation: Luc Lupien

Independent: Alain Magnan

No affiliation: Steve Penner

Libertarian: Shawn Key


Sponsored content