Canada Election: Red Deer-Lacombe

Riding boundaries for the electoral district of Red Deer-Lacombe.
Riding boundaries for the electoral district of Red Deer-Lacombe. Elections Canada

The city of Red Deer, formerly represented in a single riding, was split in two in 2015’s redistribution. Conservative MP Earl Dreeshen, elected in 2008, was re-elected in the other half of the city, in Red Deer-Mountain View. Conservative MP Blaine Calkins, who has represented Wetaskiwin since 2006, ran and won in this riding in 2015.


Liberal: Tiffany Rose
CPC: Blaine Calkins (Incumbent)
NDP: Lauren Pezzela
Green: Sarah Palmer
PPC: Laura-Lynn Tyler Thompson


This riding includes Lacombe County, Ponoka County, and the portion of Red Deer and Red Deer County that is north of the David Thompson Highway. It also includes five First Nation communities.


In 2011, voters within the boundaries of this new riding voted 77.4 per cent Conservative, and 14.3 per cent NDP. In the 2015 election, Conservative Blaine Calkins won with 70 per cent of the votes.

Story continues below advertisement
Global News Redesign Global News Redesign
A fresh new look for Global News is here, tell us what you think
Take a Survey

Sponsored Stories