2019 Canada election results: Charleswood—St. James—Assiniboia—Headingley

Voters in the riding of Charleswood—St. James—Assiniboia—Headingley have elected Conservative Marty Morantz.

Former Liberal incumbent Doug Eyolfson faced some high-profile competition in the 2019 election, including the PPC’s Steven Fletcher, who previously represented the riding as a Conservative for over a decade. Morantz previously served as a city councillor for the Charleswood-Tuxedo-Whyte Ridge area.


Liberals: Doug Eyolfson

Conservatives: Marty Morantz

NDP: Ken St. George

Green: Kristin Lauhn-Jensen

PPC: Steven Fletcher


The riding includes the western edge of the City of Winnipeg, as well as the Headingley area outside the city limits.

Story continues below advertisement


A number of ridings existed in the area prior to the establishment of the current boundaries in the early 2000s. The riding was created as Charleswood-Assiniboia in 1996 after the Winnipeg—St. James electoral district was abolished, and has been renamed Charleswoods—Assiniboine, Charleswood—St. James-Assiniboia, Charleswood—St. James over the years. It received its current name of Charleswood—St. James—Assiniboia—Headingley in 2015.

First-time candidate Eyolfson defeated incumbent Fletcher in the 2015 election, with 52 per cent of the vote to Fletcher’s 39.

Sponsored content