2019 Canada election results: Whitby

Global News has declared Ryan Turnbull of the Liberal Party of Canada the winner of Whitby.

Voters in the Whitby riding elected Celina Caesar-Chavannes who sat as an Independent MP, but was a Liberal Party MP at the time of the 2015 election. Caesar-Chavannas did not seek re-election in the 2019 federal election.

Celina Caesar-Chavannes stepped down from the Liberal Party in March of 2019, shortly after what she said was a “hostile” exchange with Trudeau where she alleges he “yelled at her.”


Liberal: Ryan Turnbull
Conservative: Todd McCarthy
NDP: Brian Dias
Green: Paul Slavchenko
Mirko Pejic

Whitby riding is in Durham Region and is comprised of the Town of Whitby entirely.

The riding has a population of 128,377 people and is 146.66 square kilometres wide according to the most recent census.

Story continues below advertisement

Whitby riding was created out of the Whitby—Oshawa riding during the 2012 federal electoral boundaries redistribution and was legally defined in the 2013 representation order. It came into effect upon the writ drop for the 2015 federal election.

The riding is fairly new with the Conservatives winning in 2011 and the Liberals taking power in the 2015 election.

Sponsored content