Vancouver – Point Grey results: Premier Christy Clark wins province, loses seat

Liberal Premier Christy Clark has lost her seat in Vancouver-Point Grey, despite her party winning a majority government this election.

NDP candidate David Eby narrowly defeated Clark with 8,610 votes to her 8,175 as of 12:17 a.m. on election night.

He once worked for the Pivot Legal Society, and is an adjunct law professor at UBC. He also regularly writes a column for the newspaper 24 Hours.

WATCH: As of midnight election night, NDP candidate David Eby had narrowly defeated Christy Clark in Vancouver-Point Grey. Jill Bennett spoke with a cautious David Eby as votes were still being counted.

Clark is the province’s second female premier after being elected Liberal Party leader in 2011. She was first elected to the legislature in 1996 and was Minister of Education from 2001 to 2004. She resigned from politics before the 2005 election and hosted a radio show on CKNW before re-entering politics in 2010.

Story continues below advertisement

The riding of Vancouver-Point Grey was previously held by former premier Gordon Campbell, who resigned his seat when Clark needed to get into the legislature. She narrowly defeated Eby in the 2011 by-election, winning by just over 500 votes.

Sponsored content