October 12, 2018 11:10 pm
Updated: October 24, 2018 8:13 am

Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands election results 2018


UPDATE: The municipal election in the Town of NEMI is accepting mail-in and drop-off ballots. Elections results therefore won’t be available until later this week.

After stepping into the role of mayor in 2013 after former mayor Joe Chapman resigned, and running unopposed in 2014, Al MacNevin now has an opponent in two-term ward two councillor Melissa Peters for the top spot.

Global News
Help us improve Globalnews.ca
Story continues below

MacNevin formerly served as the councillor for ward two and deputy mayor before stepping into the big seat. After vacating his council position, council chose Peters to fill his spot.

There are 11 candidates looking to secure eight seats on council with one, incumbent Laurie Cook, acclaimed. There are three representatives to be elected in both Ward 2 and Ward 4.



Al MacNevin (incumbent)
Melissa Peters

Councillor (8 to be elected)

Ward 1:

Laurie Cook (acclaimed)

Ward 2:

Barbara Baker
Al Boyd
Michael Erskine
Cody Leeson

Ward 3: 

Bill Koehler
Sean O’Hare

Ward 4: 

Jim Ferguson
Dawn Orr
Paul Skippen
Bruce Wood

© 2018 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Comments closed.

Due to the sensitive and/or legal subject matter of some of the content on globalnews.ca, we reserve the ability to disable comments from time to time.

Please see our Commenting Policy for more.