June 29, 2018 4:00 am
Updated: October 20, 2018 11:30 pm

B.C. municipal election 2018: Spallumcheen results


In Spallumcheen, councillor Christine Fraser has been elected mayor, as she defeated incumbent Janice Brown. Fraser captured 679 votes, while Brown earned 307 votes, according to unofficial results posted by CivicInfo BC.

Incumbent councillors Todd York, Christine LeMaire, Joe Van Tienhoven and Andrew Casson were re-elected to council, as were Gerry Popoff and John Bakker.

Below is the full list of mayoral and councillor candidates.



Janice Brown (incumbent)

Christine A. Fraser


John Bakker

Andrew Casson (incumbent)

Carolyn Farris

Christine LeMaire (incumbent)

Gerry Popoff

Joe Van Tienhoven (incumbent)

Todd York (incumbent)


Story continues below

The Township of Spallumcheen is located in B.C.’s Okanagan region, about 20 kilometres north of Vernon.

Population (2016)



Spallumcheen‘s history has been traced back to the arrival of the Overlanders, settlers who traversed the land from Ontario to B.C.’s Interior in the 1860s.

They came with the hope of digging for gold in the Cariboo region, but later decided to farm instead.

Agriculture has since become an important industry in the area, growing crops such as hay, grain and beans, as well as dairy farming.

Residential development has come to dominate its economy in recent years.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Crime Severity Index (2016)

RCMP — municipal/B.C.

36.31 (+28.94)/93.63 (-0.71)

Violent Crime Severity Index (2016)

RCMP — municipal/B.C.

12.71 (-19.76)/74.86 (-9.81)

Political representation


Mel Arnold (Conservative)


Greg Kyllo (BC Liberal)

© 2018 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.