B.C. municipal election 2018: Saanich results

With 47.9 per cent of the vote, Fred Haynes was elected Saanich’s mayor.

Susan Brice, Judy Brownoff, Nathalie Chambers, Zac de Vries, Karen Harper, Rebecca J Mersereau, Colin Plant and Ned Taylor were elected councillors.



Richard Atwell (incumbent)

Fred J Haynes (elected)

David Shebib

Rob Wickson


Benjamin Allan

Trevor Barry

Susan Brice (incumbent and elected)

Judy Brownoff (incumbent and elected)

Story continues below advertisement

Kathleen Burton

Nathalie Chambers (elected)

Zac de Vries (elected)

Karen Harper (incumbent and elected)

Ian Jessop

Vernon D Lord

Rebecca J Mersereau (elected)

Cory Montgomery

Shawn Newby

Teale Phelps Bondaroff

Colin Plant (incumbent and elected)

Art Pollard

Rishi Sharma

Ned Taylor (elected)


Saanich is located about four kilometres north of Victoria on the southern end of Vancouver island.

Population (2016)



The Saanich Peninsula was once roamed by wildlife such as mammoths and great bison.

Then the WSÁNEC First Nation lived there, making a home at a village known as STÁUTW, or Tsawout.

Story continues below advertisement

Fort Victoria would be established in the 1840s, and Europeans started to settle the peninsula.

Settlers would start farming the land, and businesses such as the Prairie Tavern would be established in the mid-19th century.

The first school would come to the peninsula in 1864, and the Saanich Fair would be held at that site before it started being held in Saanichton in the 1870s.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016/B.C.

40.16 (-5.64)/93.63 (-0.71)

Violent Crime Severity Index (VCSI) — 2016/B.C.

33.29 (-16.15)/74,86 (-9.81)

Political representation


Elizabeth May (Green)


Rob Fleming (BC NDP) — Victoria-Swan Lake

Lana Popham (BC NDP) — Saanich South

Andrew Weaver (BC Green) — Oak Bay-Gordon Head

Story continues below advertisement