B.C. municipal election 2018: Port Hardy results

Dennis Dugas is the new mayor of Port Hardy. He defeated the incumbent Hank Bood, earning more than 70 per cent of the vote.

Pat Corbett-Labatt, Fred Robertson, John Tidbury, and Leightan Wishart were re-elected as incumbents. They will be joined by Janet Dorward and Treena Smith.



Hank Bood (incumbent)

Dennis Dugas


Pat Corbett-Labatt (incumbent)

Don Kattler

Leightan Wishart (incumbent)

Janet Doward

Rick Marcotte (incumbent)

Story continues below advertisement

Fred Robertson (incumbent)

Treena Smith

John Tidbury (incumbent)


Port Hardy is located on Vancouver Island’s northern coast, about 43 kilometres from Port McNeill.

Population (2016)



Port Hardy‘s settlement began at the turn of the century with the establishment of a post office and store on the east side of Hardy Bay.

The area would see 12 families settle there by 1914, though access to the area would remain difficult until 1979, when a logging road that connected Port Hardy to Campbell River was paved.

The Island Copper Mine, an open-pit porphyry copper mine, operated between 1971 and 1995, about 16 kilometres south of Port Hardy and employed more than 900 people.

Today, it’s a wildlife habitat and a biological treatment system.

Port Hardy, meanwhile, is a focal point for air and ferry travel, as well as marine transportation.

It’s considered a gateway to B.C.’s Central Coast.

Story continues below advertisement

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Rachel Blaney


Claire Trevena (BC NDP)