June 28, 2018 4:00 am
Updated: October 21, 2018 12:55 am

B.C. municipal election 2018: Port Coquitlam results


Brad West will be the next mayor of Port Coquitlam.

West, a former councillor, dominated the election, winning 10,236 votes. His closest challenger, Robin Smith, won 952 votes.

Port Coquitlam’s next council will be made up mostly of incumbents. Laura Dupont, Glenn Pollock, Darrell Penner and Dean Washington will be back for another term.

They’ll be joined by newcomers Steve Darling and Nancy McCurrach.

Below is the full list candidates for mayor and council in Port Coquitlam.



Brad West

Patrcik H Alambets

Robin G Smith

Eric Hirvonen


Dawn E. Becker

David Blaber

Story continues below

Steve Darling

Robert Delagiroday

Erhan Demirkaya

Vince Donnelly

Laura Dupont (Incumbent)

Michael Forrest (Incumbent)

Shakeel Gaya

Nancy McCurrach

Darin Nielsen

Priscilla Omulo

Darrell Penner (Incumbent)

Glen Pollock (Incumbent)

Tommy Raguero

Carolyn Stewart

Justin Traviss

Dean Washington (incumbent)

Jami Watson


Port Coquitlam is located along the Pitt River, east of Coquitlam.

Population (2016)



The Kwikwetlem people were first to the region. Then European explorers started to arrive in the early 19th century.

Homes, roads and businesses would be set up in the area by the 1860s.

Trains would first arrive in 1886, and the Canadian Pacific Railway would move freight ops from Vancouver to Port Coquitlam in 1911.

There were hopes that a port could be established there, but the community did not grow as fast as people envisioned.

The City of Port Coquitlam was incorporated in 1913 after it split from the District of Coquitlam.

The First World War and the Great Depression would take their toll, but Port Coquitlam would bounce back after the Second World War and after the Lougheed Highway was finished in 1948. The population would double between 1941 and 1951, and then it would more than double again by 1961.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

RCMP — municipal/B.C.

72.58 (-12.21)/93.63 (-0.71)

Violent Crime Severity Index (CSI) — 2016

RCMP — municipal/B.C.

67.72 (+17.88)/74.86 (-9.81)

Political representation


Ron McKinnon (Liberal)


Mike Farnworth (BC NDP)

© 2018 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.