B.C. municipal election 2018: Mackenzie results

Joan Atkinson is the new mayor of Mackenzie.

Atkinson won the position by acclimation, facing no challengers for the job.

She will be joined by incumbents Andy Barnes, Amber Hancock, Raye McMeeken and Jim Wiens on council, along with newcomers Viktor Brumovsky and Peter Grogan.

Incumbent coun. David Forshaw was not re-elected.

Below is the full list of mayoral and councillor candidates in Mackenzie.



Joan Atkinson


Andy Barnes (incumbent)

Viktor Brumovsky

Story continues below advertisement

David Forshaw (incumbent)

Peter Grogan

Amber Hancock (incumbent)

Raye McMeeken (incumbent)

Jim Wiens (incumbent)


Mackenzie is located in B.C’s north, just under 200 kilometres from Chetwynd.

Population (2016)



Incorporated in 1966, Mackenzie is a community with an economy driven by forestry, and a labour force mostly employed in manufacturing.

The Tse’khene First Nations were first to this region, though the Tsay Keh Dene, the Kwadacha Nation and the McLeod Lake Indian band have also called it home.

Explorer Alexander Mackenzie came through the area in 1793 en route to the confluence of the Parsnip and Finlay rivers north of the municipality.

Since then it’s been a logging community, with a tree crusher that is the world’s largest.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Story continues below advertisement

Political representation


Bob Zimmer (Conservative)


Mike Morris (BC Liberal)