B.C. municipal election 2018: Lions Bay results

Ron McLaughlin is the mayor of Lions Bay by acclamation.

McLaughlin ran unopposed and takes over after former mayor Karl Buhr who did not seek re-election.

Incumbent councillors Fred Bain and Norman Barmeier were also acclaimed along with newcomers Neville Abbott and Jaime Cunliffe.

Below is the full list of mayoral and councillor candidates.



Ron McLaughlin


Neville Abbott

Fred Bain (incumbent)

Norman Barmeier (incumbent)

Jaime Cunliffe

Story continues below advertisement


If you drive past West Vancouver on your way to Squamish and Whistler you’ll go through Lions Bay along the Sea to Sky Highway. The Howe Sound community is about 12 kilometres north of Horseshoe Bay.

Population (2016)



The Sea-to-Sky corridor used to be known as a cattle trail that concluded at Burrard Inlet.

Then, Lions Bay was surveyed alongside Brunswick Beach in 1908.

They were places where logging became an important industry.

Initially, you could only access them by boat. Then the railway was opened in 1954 before the highway opened four years later.

Families started to move into the area, living in cottages before those houses were replaced with much bigger homes.

Lions Bay became a municipality in 1971. Brunswick Beach united with it in 1999.

Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/B.C. median


Political representation


Pamela Goldsmith-Jones (Liberal)

Story continues below advertisement


Jordan Sturdy (BC Liberal)