Canada’s Olympic women’s hockey team members announced in Calgary

WATCH: 250 female minor hockey players had the opportunity to witness an Olympic announcement Friday as Canada's National Women's Team was revealed. As Jill Croteau reports, it's inspiring a whole new generation of girls.

The Canadian women’s hockey team released three players and unveiled its roster for February’s Winter Olympics on Friday.

Head coach Laura Schuler named three goaltenders, six defencemen and 14 forwards to the team that will attempt to defend gold in Pyeongchang, South Korea. (See full roster below).

Canada has won four consecutive gold medals in women’s hockey.

READ MORE: IOC looks to sweeten the pot as Calgary mulls 2026 Olympic bid

Defenders Halli Krzyzaniak of Neepawa, Man., and Micah Zandee-Hart of Saanichton, B.C., and forward Sarah Potomak of Aldergrove, B.C., were the last cuts from the team.

Twenty-eight players were invited in May to try out for the 2018 Olympic team. The players began training full time in August in preparation for the Winter Games.

Story continues below advertisement

Veteran forwards Marie-Philip Poulin of Beauceville, Que., Meghan Agosta of Ruthven, Ont., Brianne Jenner of Oakville, Ont., and defender Meaghan Mikkelson of St. Albert, Alta., are expected to lead the women in their bid for another gold.

Watch below: Meaghan Mikkelson gives a whole new meaning to the term ‘hockey mom’

St. Albert’s Meaghan Mikkelson gives new meaning to term ‘hockey mom’
St. Albert’s Meaghan Mikkelson gives new meaning to term ‘hockey mom’


Shannon Szabados, Edmonton, Genevieve Lacasse, Kingston, Ont. Calgary (CWHL); Ann-Renee Desbiens, La Malbaie, Que.,University of Wisconsin (WCHA).


Jocelyne Larocque, Ste. Anne, Man., Markham (CWHL); Brigette Lacquette, Mallard, Man., Calgary (CWHL); Lauriane Rougeau, Beaconsfield, Que., Montreal (CWHL); Laura Fortino, Hamilton, Markham (CWHL); Meaghan Mikkelson, St. Albert, Alta., Calgary (CWHL); Renata Fast, Burlington, Ont. Toronto (CWHL).


Meghan Agosta, Ruthven, Ont. Hockey Canada; Rebecca Johnston, Sudbury, Ont., Calgary (CWHL); Laura Stacey, Kleinburg, Ont., Markham (CWHL); Jennifer Wakefield, Pickering, Ont., Linkoeping HC (SWE); Jillian Saulnier, Halifax, Calgary (CWHL); Melodie Daoust, Valleyfield, Que., Montreal (CWHL); Bailey Bram, St. Anne, Man., Calgary (CWHL); Brianne Jenner, Oakville, Ont., Calgary (CWHL); Sarah Nurse, Hamilton, University of Wisconsin (WCHA); Haley Irwin, Thunder Bay, Ont., Calgary (CWHL); Natalie Spooner, Toronto, Toronto (CWHL); Emily Clark, Saskatoon, University of Wisconsin (WCHA); Marie-Philip Poulin, Beauceville, Que., Montreal (CWHL); Blayre Turnbull, Stellarton, N.S., Calgary (CWHL).

Story continues below advertisement

Head coach

Laura Schuler, Toronto, Dartmouth (ECAC)

Assistant coaches

Dwayne Gylywoychuk, Winnipeg; Troy Ryan, Spryfield, N.S.

Global News Redesign Global News Redesign
A fresh new look for Global News is here, tell us what you think
Take a Survey

Sponsored Stories