All seats full around the Penticton Indian Band council table

Newly elected members of the Penticton Indian Band council.

There is again a full compliment of councillors for the Penticton Indian Band.

A by-election was held Wednesday to chose councillors to replace five who had resigned.

Those elected from a slate of eight candidates are:

Fredrick Kruger   162 votes
Inez Pierre             145 votes
Joan Phillip           140 votes
Ernest Jack            132 votes
Kyle Alec                 91 votes

“We are so proud of all of our community members and their passion for being involved,” said Chief Chad Eneas in a news release. “We welcome the newly elected council and look forward to their fresh perspectives as they each contribute their own personal and professional experience for the whole of the community.”

Story continues below advertisement

The first meeting for the new council is December 5th.

The legitimacy of the by-election was challenged by protesters outside the polling station who claimed proper procedures were not followed.

Sponsored content